Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Guides

Evidence-led guide

Unlimited eSIM fair use: who publishes the limit, and who does not

A mountain waterfall seen through a train carriage window
Mountain railway, Norway · Photo: Abby Rurenko / Unsplash

Every unlimited travel eSIM has a limit. The useful question is not whether a fair use policy exists — it always does — but whether the provider will tell you the number before you pay. We read each provider's own terms and recorded exactly that.

Last reviewed 26 August 2026Every figure links to the provider page it came from

How a daily fair-use allowance works

Already know you want unlimited? Check provider options.

  1. High-speed allowance. The number to look for. Some providers publish it; some state a policy without one.
  2. Throttled speed. Past the allowance the plan slows down rather than cutting off, until the reset.
  3. Reset. Every day, counted from activation or from local midnight depending on the provider.
Schematic, not to scale. Each provider’s real figures, with sources, are in the table below.

Check these before you pay

  • The allowance is per day, not per tripA daily high-speed allowance resets. Running past it slows you down until the reset rather than cutting you off, which is why these plans are still called unlimited.
  • The reset clock may not be midnightWhere a provider counts 24 hours from activation, your reset lands at whatever time you first connected — not at local midnight. On a short trip that difference decides which day you lose.
  • The throttled speed is the number that matters1 Mbps carries maps, messaging and email. It does not carry video calls or streaming. A plan with a small allowance and an honest throttle can beat one with a bigger allowance and an unstated one.
  • Tethering usually comes out of the same bucketIf hotspot traffic shares the main allowance, a laptop backup or a video call from a tethered device can spend the day's allowance long before you expect.

What each provider publishes

Read the “not published” cells as carefully as the numbers. A provider that will not commit to a threshold in writing can change it without telling you, and you have nothing to hold it to.

High-speed allowance and what happens after it

Airalo

  • 3 GB/day at full speed
  • Then up to 1 Mbps
  • Resets daily
  • The daily allowance resets 24 hours from the time the eSIM was activated, not at local midnight.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.”
Pages we checked (3)

Does tethering share that allowance?

Airalo

  • Tethering allowed
  • Shares the main allowance rather than a separate cap
  • Hotspot traffic counts against the same daily high-speed allowance. No separate tethering cap and no stated device limit.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.”
Pages we checked (3)

When the plan starts counting down

Airalo

  • Depends on the package. Most start when the eSIM first connects to a supported network in its coverage area; some start at installation. Airalo publishes the policy per package before purchase.

Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

NexKit does not sell eSIMs. Source links on this page are unpaid citations. A separately labelled Saily checkout link may earn commission, but prices change constantly, so we do not quote them: verify the current price on the provider’s own site.

Looking for an unlimited eSIM?

No verified plans or prices are available for this guide yet. Check current options and prices directly with providers.

Check provider options
How NexKit checked this

Every figure on this page was read from the provider’s own terms, help centre or product page on the date shown, and links back to that page. Each fact also states its reach, so a policy read from one product family is never presented as covering everything a provider sells. Where a provider states a policy but publishes no number in the pages we checked, this page says so and lists what we checked. Source links are citations, not paid links. A separately labelled provider CTA may be an affiliate link; commission never changes the evidence, comparison order or recommendation method.

Read the full review methodology

Where to go from here

Next step

Compare what each provider publishes, then check the current price with the provider.

Narrow it down by tripSet your destination and trip details to see provider matches and any evidence gaps.