City and rail itineraries
Check the current destination plan, setup instructions and fair-use terms. For heavy use, read the exact Unlimited allowance rather than relying on the label.

Current verified plan comparison is temporarily unavailable for Japan
No fresh provider plan snapshot is available, so this page does not show stale prices. Recheck the comparison when new evidence is recorded; availability remains UNKNOWN.
Japan coverage is good almost everywhere in the major cities, so the provider you pick rarely matters there. It starts to matter once an itinerary includes mountains, islands and smaller towns, because that depends on which carrier the plan actually runs on — a fact most sellers do not put on the page.
Choose by the named underlying network and your itinerary before looking at headline allowance. City-only trips are a different coverage decision from rural Hokkaido, islands or mountain routes.
Prioritise simple setup and enough data for maps, translation and bookings.
Check the named carrier and offline-map fallback for long intercity days.
Treat provider network disclosure as more important than a small price difference.
Each cell is what the provider publishes, linked to the page it came from. Empty cells would be dishonest here, so a gap is labelled as a gap.
| What the provider publishes | AiraloUnlimited data packages | HolaflyUnlimited data eSIMs |
|---|---|---|
| Network operator named for Japan |
Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “Softbank” | Unknown NexKit has not verified any Japan network detail for this provider. Applies to: Holafly in Japan Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Network generation stated | Not stated in the pages we checked The Japan product page names the network but does not state whether 5G is included. Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. Pages we checked (1) | Unknown Not verified by NexKit. Applies to: Holafly in Japan Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Where traffic reaches the internet | Not stated in the pages we checked Not stated on the Japan product page. Routing is not normally a consideration in Japan. Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. Pages we checked (1) | Unknown Not verified by NexKit. Applies to: Holafly in Japan Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Fair use on unlimited plans |
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day” | Not stated in the pages we checked Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.” |
| Tethering |
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.” | Not stated in the pages we checked Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.” |
| When validity starts |
Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.” | Unknown NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Calls and SMS |
Applies to: Airalo data-only packages; Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “Telephony services like Texts(SMS) and calls are not possible using a Data-only eSIM” | Unknown NexKit has not checked Holafly's calls and SMS behaviour. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only
“Softbank”
Holafly
NexKit has not verified any Japan network detail for this provider.
Applies to: Holafly in Japan
Airalo
Not stated in the pages we checked
The Japan product page names the network but does not state whether 5G is included.
Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only
Holafly
Not verified by NexKit.
Applies to: Holafly in Japan
Airalo
Not stated in the pages we checked
Not stated on the Japan product page. Routing is not normally a consideration in Japan.
Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only
Holafly
Not verified by NexKit.
Applies to: Holafly in Japan
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages
“when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day”
Holafly
Not stated in the pages we checked
Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
“Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.”
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages
“There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.”
Holafly
Not stated in the pages we checked
Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
“the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.”
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package
“The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.”
Holafly
NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo data-only packages; Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts
“Telephony services like Texts(SMS) and calls are not possible using a Data-only eSIM”
Holafly
NexKit has not checked Holafly's calls and SMS behaviour.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
A public destination page proves only that the provider listed this destination when NexKit checked it. It does not prove a particular plan, price, allowance or checkout state is live now.
Saily-specific Japan context
Saily's Japan page names local network partners including KDDI and SoftBank and describes 4G/LTE and 5G where available Saily's Japan page says coverage can be patchier in remote areas such as rural Hokkaido and the Japanese Alps NexKit has no independent or community measurement here that supports a universal best-provider conclusion.
Check the current destination plan, setup instructions and fair-use terms. For heavy use, read the exact Unlimited allowance rather than relying on the label.
Keep offline maps and compare alternatives. Provider-published partner names do not replace route-specific testing or guarantee uniform rural performance.
Saily's Japan page names local partners including KDDI and SoftBank and describes 4G/LTE and 5G where available. This is provider-published network information, not an independent speed test.
NexKit does not make a universal best-provider claim. Compare the named network, itinerary, fair-use terms, hotspot policy and alternatives, especially for rural Hokkaido, the Japanese Alps, islands or other remote routes.
It can matter for heavy-data travel, but Saily's current Japan page describes 5 GB per day at full speed and up to 1 Mbps afterward. Check the current destination page and your expected use before choosing it.
See what each provider publishes about Japan, then check the current price with the provider. No fresh Japan plan snapshot is available right now, so this page does not show stale prices. It continues to compare published policy only until new evidence is recorded. Source links above are citations, not affiliate links.
Provider checkout option
Labelled affiliate linksThis is separate from the evidence table above. It is not a plan recommendation, price comparison, rating or availability claim, and commission does not affect editorial order.
Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a aloSIM plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.
Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.
View current options at aloSIMProvider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a GigSky plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.
Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.
View current options at GigSkyProvider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a Saily plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.
Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.
View current options at SailyThere is no evidence-backed universal winner. Match the named network, activation method, fair-use policy and hotspot rules to your itinerary, then verify the current plan with the provider.
Use your recent phone data history, scale it to the trip, and add headroom for maps, translation and bookings. Video and hotspot use require a separate fair-use check.
No. NexKit is not a reseller. Its labelled Saily link is a provider-level affiliate handoff; Saily remains the seller and current plan details must be checked there.
Recorded rather than quietly omitted, so their absence is visible.
Why this destination: Existing real editorial route, explicit high-purchase-intent brief, and verified public Japan destination page from the provider. Existing traffic is NOT_VERIFIED.
Every figure on this page was read from the provider’s own terms, help centre or product page on the date shown, and links back to that page. Each fact also states its reach, so a policy read from one product family is never presented as covering everything a provider sells. Where a provider states a policy but publishes no number in the pages we checked, this page says so and lists what we checked. Source links are citations, not paid links. A separately labelled provider CTA may be an affiliate link; commission never changes the evidence, comparison order or recommendation method.
Read the full review methodologyWhere to go from here
See what each provider publishes about Japan, then check the current price with the provider.